Experience history at the Feeder Canal!
The Feeder Canal, completed in 1822, was used to transfer water from the Hudson River to the highest point on the Champlain Canal in Fort Edward. Between 1822 until the early 1900s, the Feeder Canal was an essential waterway for Adirondack industry, moving lumber, lime, marble, paper, and various crops from the Lake George Area to New York City.
Today, the Feeder Canal is used for public recreation based out of Overlook Park. Recreational opportunities include walking, snowshoeing and cross-country skiing, biking, bird watching, canoeing and kayaking, and more.
Overland Park marks the beginning of the historic Feeder Canal Towpath Trail, a 9-mile trail used for walking and biking that leads to Fort Edward. There are also three canoe and kayak boat launches that provide access to the Feeder Canal from the Feeder Dam on Richardson Street, Shermantown Road, and Murray Street.
Maintained by the Feeder Canal Alliance. The Feeder Canal is listed on the New York State and National Register of Historic Places. A Path Through History attraction.