Frances G. Kinnear Museum
Main St., Lake Luzerne. 518-696-4520. May-Sept, Fri-Sat, 1-4pm. Free. The 1880s Victorian home features period rooms, a vintage clothing collection, over 1000 photos of the Lake Luzerne area, local history exhibits and reference material for genealogical studies. Gift shop.
Bolton Historical Museum
Rt. 9N, Lake Shore Dr., Bolton Landing. 518-644-9960. July 4-Labor Day, Mon-Sat, 11am-4pm, 7-9pm; Sun, 11am-4pm. Memorial Day-July 4 and Labor Day-Columbus Day, Sat-Sun, 11am-4pm. Free. The 1890 Blessed Sacrament Church is the repository for the local history collection which includes an extensive collection of regional artifacts and memorabilia. The photographs and exhibits feature hotels, lakeside mansions, businesses, steamboats, boats, ice harvesting equipment, scrapbooks, family histories, schools, antiques, vintage clothing, tools, farm implements, Indian artifacts and small displays about some of the town's notable residentsdoctors, artists and opera singers. Special Events: summer lecture series. Visit the Knox Monument in nearby Rogers Park. The monument is dedicated to Henry Knox who lead an effort to drag captured artillery from Fort Ticonderoga and Crown Point, 300 miles east to Boston during the winter of 1775-76. The artillery was used to force the British out of Boston.
Chapman Historical Museum
348 Glen St., Glens Falls. 518-793-2826. YR, Tue-Sat, 10am-5pm. July-Aug. Admission Fee. www.chapmanmuseum.org Enter the DeLong House and step back in time to the Victorian-era as you wander through five period rooms restored to the tastes of 1860-1910. The museum owns a vast collection of images by Seneca Ray Stoddard, a highly acclaimed 19th-century Adirondack photographer and Glens Falls native. See how Victorians enjoyed the nearby lakes and mountains in the images of his stunning photographs. Guided tours, special changing exhibitions. Museum shop. Special Events: Lectures, summer programs for children, Holiday Open House.
Pulp Mill Museum
Mill and Main St., Lake Luzerne. 518-696-2711. July-Aug, Sat-Sun, 10am-2pm. Free. A picturesque riverside Mill Park is the setting for this restored building which was one of the first pulp mills in America. Exhibits include historic photographs, paper-making history, the grinding stone and other original machinery used in the papermaking process.
Barton Garnet Mines
Barton Mines Rd., North River. 518-251-2706. June-Oct, Mon-Sat, 9:30am-5pm; Sun, 11am-5pm. Guided tours hourly. Admission Fee. www.garnetminetours.com The Barton Garnet Mines, first established in 1878, is one of the world's largest garnet deposits. Take the garnet mine tour and learn about the history, geology, and present day operations of the garnet mines and how to find your own gemstones. Gem cutting demonstrations and mineral collection. Search for your own gem quality garnet. Gift and Mineral Shop.
Lake George Battlefield Park and Fort George State Park
Lake George. YR. Parking fee in season. The extensive park, near Fort William Henry and across Beach Road from Lake George's Million Dollar Beach, was the site of the Battle of Lake George which took place on September 8, 1755 during the French and Indian War. Later on that September day, a surprise attack by the British took the lives of over 200 French regulars, Canadian militia and Indians at Bloody Pond. One of the commanders of the American Colonial militia, Colonel Ephraim Williams, and the Mohawk Chief King Hendrick, were killed in the engagement. Paths wind through the park and interpretive signage tells the story of the area's significance in both the French and Indian War and the American Revolution. Explore the remains of Fort George, a bastion built in 1759. An interpretive marker identifies the site of an American hospital camp used to treat survivors of the ill-fated attempt to capture Quebec during the winter of 1775-76. The battlefield was also the site of the largest smallpox hospital in North America during the American Revolution.
Cooper's Cave Bridge
Bridge between Glens Falls and South Glens Falls. MemorialLabor Day. Free. Visit caves which inspired James Fenimore Cooper to include the location in Last of the Mohicans.
Warrensburg Museum of Local History
VFW Hall, Rt. 9, 47 Main St., Warrensburg. 518-623-2928. July-Labor Day, Tue-Sat, 1-4pm. Donation. Turn-of-the-century Warrensburg was a thriving mill town; remains of the water-powered mills can still be seen along the Schroon River. The museum features many photographs from this era as well as antique clothing, jewelry, furniture, quilts and local war artifacts. Learn about famous locals like Floyd Bennett, who was the pilot for Richard Byrd's North Pole expedition.
Historic Warrensburg Walking Tour
Free booklet available from Warrensburgh Beautification, P.O. Box 312, Warrensburg, NY 12885. 518-623-4243. Warrensburg Chamber of Commerce, 3847 Main Street, Warrensburg. 518-623-2161. Explore the Warrensburg Historic District which includes 428 historic properties and is the largest district north of Saratoga. The walking tour details can be found in the free booklet An Architectural Heritage Tour of Warrensburgh, New York.
161 Warren St., Glens Falls. 518-792-1761. YR, Tue-Sat, 10am-5pm; Thur 10am-7pm; Sun 12-5pm. Guided tours, 1-4pm. Free. www.hydeartmuseum.org Charlotte Pruyn Hyde intended for her home to be a showcase for paintings, tapestries, sculpture, rare books, furniture, and other artifacts. The Hyde family collection has become a world-class museum with works by noted modern artists and old masters presented in an intimate and elegant environment. Major changing exhibits. Gift shop. Special Events: Workshops, tours, lectures, chamber music series, annual costume gala and dance.
Main St., Lake Luzerne. Behind Glens Falls National Bank. 518-696-3656. July-Aug, Mon-Fri, 12-3pm. Free. Generations of children attended first through eighth grades from 1865 to 1937 in this small, one-room schoolhouse. The simple furnishings, desks, books and other learning materials that remain create a vivid picture of school days past.
Crandall Public Library/Folklife Center
251 Glen St., Glens Falls. 518-792-6508. YR, Mon-Sat, 1-4pm; Wed, 1-8pm. Free. www.crandalllibrary.org The Center for Folklife, History, and Cultural Programs preserves and presents the living and historical cultural heritage of the upper Hudson Valley and southern Adirondacks. The research archives and special collections are available to everyone in the Reading Room, and there are cultural programs and performances, family workshops, a lecture series, publications, and exhibitions at the Folklife Gallery. The staff will assist with genealogy and local history questions.
Town of Chester Museum of Local History
Chester Town Hall, 6339 Rt. 9, Chestertown. 518-494-2711. July-Labor Day, Tue-Fri, 10am-3pm. Free. Learn about the history of the Chestertown and Pottersville areas through displays, photographs and antique artifacts. Guided tours available.
Warren County Historical Society
The Warren County Historical Society is a venue for rotating exhibits,research and special events. It is open to the public, year round. The Society was chartered in 1997 by the New York Education Department for the collection, preservation, and promotion of the heritage of Warren County. The Society is developing a library and has long range plans for a museum for historical research, providing a place to gather, preserve, and display artifacts, books, manuscripts, papers, photographs and other records and materials relating to the history of the Warren County region and New York State. The current headquarters of the Society is located in the historical Old Troy Shirt Factory Building at 71 Lawrence Street, Glens Falls, NY.
Upper Hudson River Railroad
3 Railroad Place, North Creek. 518-251-5334. May-Oct. Admission Fee. www.UpperHudsonRiverRR.com Board from the restored platforms of the historic North Creek Depot and enjoy beautiful scenery as the train travels beside the Hudson River to the refurbished train station at Riverside. The two-hour round-trip excursion travels on an 8.5 mile section of the former Adirondack Branch of the D&H Railroad. The newly restored freight house contains the ticket office, coffee stand and a gift shop. An engine house and turntable are also part of the rail complex. Special Events: Payroll Robberies
Marcella Sembrich Opera Museum
4800 Lake Shore Dr., Bolton Landing. 518-644-9839. June 15-Sept 15, daily, 10am-12:30pm, 2-5:30pm. Admission Fee. www.operamuseum.com In 1877 Mme. Sembrich made her operatic debut in Athens at the age of 19 and quickly became one of the world's greatest opera singers. She was Europe's premier soprano during most of her early career, spending one year at the Metropolitan Opera in 1883 during its first season. Rejoining the Met in 1898, she stayed for a decade, retiring in 1909. She founded the vocal departments at the Juilliard School and the Curtis Institute, and was for 25 years pre-eminent among teachers of singing in America. Her summer home and teaching studio on the shore of Lake George was turned into a museum following her death in 1935. The personal collection of operatic memorabiliaportraits and prints, opera posters and vintage photographs, lavish costumes and accessories, music and correspondence from composers and admirersis beautifully displayed in the pink stucco cottage on the water's edge where she taught gifted students from 1921 to 1935. Special Events: summer lecture series, voice and piano recitals.
Sacred Heart Church
50 Mohican St., Lake George. 518-668-2046. YR, daily, 8am-3:30pm. Donations accepted. See the history of the Lake George area as depicted in the stained glass windows of Sacred Heart Church. The windows tell the story of Fr. Isaac Jogues, a missionary and the first European to see Lake George. The tour continues with panels depicting Fr. Jogues preaching among the Hurons and Mohawks; the discovery of Lake George; the attacks and torture of Fr. Jogues and his companions; and the story of Blessed Kateri Tekawitha.
Glens Falls Feeder Canal Park
Feeder Canal Alliance, P.O. Box 2414, Glens Falls. 518-792-5363. YR. Free. www.adirondack.net The canal's original purpose was to carry water from the Hudson River to the Old Champlain Canal (circa 1822) guaranteeing adequate water at its summit. In 1832, the canal was widened and deepened to accommodate boat traffic. Mills and factories sprang up along the Feeder Canal and there were six boat basins for loading, unloading and repairs. One of the most unique engineering features of the canal is the Five Combined Locks (pictured above) at Burgoyne Avenue in Hudson Falls. The original towpath is now a multi-purpose trail where you can walk, bike or cross-country ski. The nine-mile route starts at the Feeder Dam in Queensbury and runs to McIntyre Park in Fort Edward. You can also canoe a five-mile section of the canal. Access and parking is available at several points. Call for an interpretive guide with a map and history.
Stony Creek Historical Museum
Lanfear Rd., Stony Creek. 518-696-5211. July-Aug, Sun, 1-4pm. Free. History of life and industry in Stony Creek.
Glens Falls Walking Tour
Downtown, Glens Falls. Self-guided walking tour which includes 26 buildings of architectural and historical significance within the city of Glens Falls. Pick up a map at the Chapman Museum or the Hyde Collection.
Lake George Boat Tours
Lake George Shoreline cruise
2 Kurosaka Lane, Lake George. 518-668-4644. May-Oct. Admission Fee. www.lakegeorgeshoreline.com Narrated day and evening sightseeing and entertainment cruises aboard enclosed cruise ships including the classic wooden yacht Horicon which is listed on the National Register. Lake George Steamboat Company Steel Pier, Beach Rd., Lake George. 518-668-5777 or 800-553-BOAT. May-Oct. Admission Fee. www.lakegeorgesteamboat.com Narrated one- to four-hour scenic cruises aboard classic ships: the 1907 M/V Mohican; the SS Minne-Ha-Ha, an authentic steamboat paddlewheeler; and the 190-foot Lac du Saint Sacrement, a reproduction of classic 19th century Hudson River day vessel. Brunch, lunch and dinner cruises (reservations suggested). Snack bar, cocktail lounge, gift shop. The special 18th Century Historic Battle Tour is a combination bus/boat tour of French and Indian-era battle sites, the American Revolution at Fort Ticonderoga, and the Skenesborough Museum in Whitehall, the birthplace of the American Navy. Sagamore Resort Boat Tours Green Island, Bolton Landing. 518-644-9400. June-July. Admission Fee. www.thesagamore.com Narrated tours of Lake George aboard the small luxury cruise boat Morgan, a 72-foot replica of 19th century wooden touring vessel. Lunch and dinner cruises.
6696 Rt 8, Brant Lake. Nine-room restored farmhouse museum filled with local history of the Adirondacks. Antique clothing, military uniform collection, pictures, furniture, farm machinery and doll collection. YR, FREE, 494-7286; www.horiconhistoricalsociety.org
Lake George Historical Museum
Canada St., Lake George. 518-668-5044. YR, Fri-Mon, Noon-5pm. Admission Fee. The old Warren County Courthouse, complete with 19th century courtrooms and jail cells, is the setting for this local history museum. The handsome brick and stone structure, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, was completed in 1845. Exhibits feature Native American artifacts including a dugout canoe; displays on ice harvesting, steamboats and hotels; local memorabilia and historical maps, books and prints. A light-up map shows historic sites around the lake.
Lake George Visitor Center
Corner of Canada Street and Beach Road, Lake George. Interpretive Center with interactive historic displays along with local travel information.
Submerged Heritage Preserves
Beach Rd., Lake George. 518-668-3352. Contact the NYS Dept. of Environmental Conservation, Submerged Heritage Preserves, Region 5, Rt. 86, Ray Brook. Call 518-897-1200 for a brochure with complete information. Three sites in Lake George are available for exploration: The Sunken Fleet of 1758; the 1906 motor-launch Forward; and the radeau, Land Tortoise, a 1758 floating gun battery which is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The Land Tortoise and the Sunken Fleet of 1758 were intentionally scuttled to store them under the winter ice and prevent their capture or destruction by enemy forces. The radeau, Land Tortoise, has been designated by the Smithsonian Institution as the oldest intact war vessel in North America. You must register and be assigned a time slot to dive the Land Tortoise. Register with the DEC at the Lake George Beach. The Sunken Fleet of 1758 includes seven bateaux which are spread out over a 450-foot-long area at a depth of 25 to 59 feet. Diving is on a first-come, first-served basis. The Forward is perhaps the earliest gasoline-powered vessel on Lake George. The 45-foot wooden hull sits in 25 to 45 feet of water and features a specially prepared underwater trail system and stations. Removing artifacts or damaging these resources is forbidden by law and deprives others of the opportunity to view and study them. Do not touch the remains, they are fragile. Please take nothing but photographs.
North Creek Railway Depot Museum
5 Railroad Place, North Creek. 518-251-5842. Memorial Day-Labor Day, Tue-Sun, 12-4pm. Weekends through Oct. Donations accepted. www.northcreekraildepot.org The Depot Museum features exhibits on local history, skiing, the Adirondacks and Teddy Roosevelt who received a telegram here informing him of President McKinley's death on the morning of September 14, 1901. He boarded a train for Buffalo where he was sworn in as President of the U.S. Train fans will find local railroad history exhibits, a model train, a hands-on children's exhibit, model train cars, and train artwork.
Fort William Henry Museum
48 Canada St., Lake George. 518-668-5471/668-3081. July-Aug, daily, 9am-10pm. May-June, Sept-Oct, daily, 10am-5pm. Admission Fee. www.fortwilliamhenry.com Fort William Henry, named after the brother of King George, was a log-and-earth stockade built in 1755 during the French and Indian War. Colonial defenders held off the French for two long years until the summer of 1757 when a huge force of 12,000 French Regulars and Indian Allies lead by General Montcalm finally succeeded in taking the fort and it was burned. In 1759 British General Amherst arrived from the south with an army of 11,000 and Montcalm withdrew his French troops. The book and movie, The Last of the Mohicans, captures the mood of the times and the events that unfolded here. The Fort was reconstructed in the 1950s. View French and Indian artifacts, audio-visual presentations, and take a guided tour with a costumed interpreter. Witness cannon and musket firings and learn how musket balls are made at living history demonstrations.